Staff

Administration

Dr. Deborah Kindel : Principal

Dr. Deborah Kindel

Principal

Deborah.Kindel@polk-fl.net
John Dooley : Assistant Principal

John Dooley

Assistant Principal

john.dooley@polk-fl.net

Faculty

Office Staff

Marla Outlaw : Principal Secretary

Marla Outlaw

Principal Secretary

marla.outlaw@polk-fl.net
Carey Eubanks : Secretary, Guidance

Carey Eubanks

Secretary, Guidance

carey.eubanks@polk-fl.net

Support Staff

David Outlaw : Network Manager

David Outlaw

Network Manager

david.outlaw@polk-fl.net
Stephanie Mask : Para, LPN

Stephanie Mask

Para, LPN

stephanie.mask@polk-fl.net
Tamara Woodford : Behavior Interventionist

Tamara Woodford

Behavior Interventionist

tamara.woodford@polk-fl.net
Edward Palmer : SRO

Edward Palmer

SRO

edward.palmer@polk-fl.net
Tracy Cobb : Testing Coordinator & Student Success Coach

Tracy Cobb

Testing Coordinator & Student Success Coach

Bachelor of Science – Marywood College

Masters of Science – Russell Sage College

Masters of School Counseling K -12 – University of Phoenix

National Board Certification

9th year Part – time Online Adjunct Professor  – University of Phoenix

33rd year in Public Education

Favorite Quote“Don't give up. Don't ever give up.”  Jim Valvano

tracy.cobb@polk-fl.net
Rhonda Love : Speech/Language Pathologist

Rhonda Love

Speech/Language Pathologist

Bachelor of Arts in Communications Disorders - University of Wisconsin

Master of Arts in Communications Disorders - University of Wisconsin

Previous school affiliations: Frostproof Elementary, Ben Hill Griffin, Babson Park Elem, Hillcrest Elem and Spook Hill Elem.

Previous work experience: Speech/Language Pathologist in the hospital and home settings, skilled nursing and rehabilitation facilities.

I have worked in a Speech/Language Pathologist position for 32 years. I also split my time currently between Roosevelt and McLaughlin Head Start.

I have two daughters who are currently teaching at McLaughlin and Spook Hill.

rhonda.love@polk-fl.net

Guidance

Michelle Gifford : Guidance Counselor

Michelle Gifford

Guidance Counselor

Masters in School Counseling K-12

American Public University

Bachelor's Secondary Education Social Science 6-12

Warner Southern

michelle.gifford@polk-fl.net

Math

Phillip Miles : Teacher, Social Studies

Phillip Miles

Teacher, Social Studies

Bachelor's Degree from University of Georgia

Master's Degree from Walden University

Student Government Sponsor

Subjects taught: HS Math and Social Studies, College Success

phillip.miles@polk-fl.net
Stefanie Hendrick : Teacher, Math M/J

Stefanie Hendrick

Teacher, Math M/J

stefanie.hendrick@polk-fl.net
Tracie Selwood : Teacher, Math M/J

Tracie Selwood

Teacher, Math M/J

Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education

Florida Southern

Hobbies: I enjoy playing in the Middle Ages

Personal: I have a daughter that is the apple of my eye.

tracie.selwood@polk-fl.net
Jennifer Morrison : Teacher, Math M/J

Jennifer Morrison

Teacher, Math M/J

jennifer.morrison@polk-fl.net
Mark Heiser : Teacher, Math M/J

Mark Heiser

Teacher, Math M/J

mark.heiser@polk-fl.net
Rachel Meaney : Teacher, Math M/J

Rachel Meaney

Teacher, Math M/J

rachel.meaney@polk-fl.net

Language Arts

Linda Davis : Teacher, Language Arts M/J

Linda Davis

Teacher, Language Arts M/J

Bachelor in Education Specific Learning Disabilities - University of Florida

English/Language Arts - Department Head

Famous Quote: "The best time to make friends is before you need them!"

Favorite Poem: John Gillespie Magee Jr. "HIGH FLIGHT"

Clubs Sponsored: Theatre/Drama LA in partnership with McLaughlin School of the Arts

Hobbies: Swimming, listening to audio books, traveling, BASEBALL and Theatre

Bucket List: Travel to Greece, cruise the Mediterranean Sea, visit every major league ballpark in the United States and Canada.

linda.davis@polk-fl.net
Kimberly Boyd : Teacher, Language Arts M/J

Kimberly Boyd

Teacher, Language Arts M/J

Alma Maters - University of South Florida and Warner University

Degrees - Physical Education 6-12, ESE (VE) K-12

High School Leadership Team, Middle/High School Reading Chair

I have been teaching 28 years with 25 here at Roosevelt.

kimberly.boyd@polk-fl.net
Collette Smith : Teacher, Reading

Collette Smith

Teacher, Reading

collette.smith@polk-fl.net
Terry Hamilton : Teacher, English/Language Arts

Terry Hamilton

Teacher, English/Language Arts

Technology Integration Coach

Bachelor of Science in English and Journalism-Tennessee Tech

Master's Degree - Pfeiffer University

Teaching Certificate - Queen's College

Teaching background - 14th year (8 in NC before moving to Florida)

Subjects taught: Middle School Computers, HS - English I, II, II, AP English Language, AP English Literature, Creative Writing

Hobbies: Nature and wildlife photography, geocaching, bird watching, reading (mysteries), fossil hunting, playing with my dog and sport shooting.

terry.hamilton@polk-fl.net
Michele Ogburn : Teacher, English/Language Arts

Michele Ogburn

Teacher, English/Language Arts

Bachelor of Arts in English Education

Warner University

Pre-K/Primary Certification through Florida Southern College

michele.ogburn@polk-fl.net
Tracy Gist : Language Arts Teacher

Tracy Gist

Language Arts Teacher

tracy.gist@polk-fl.net

Custodians

Mamie Summage : Custodial Team

Mamie Summage

Custodial Team

Fabian Acevedo : Custodial Team

Fabian Acevedo

Custodial Team

Almilkar Martinez Vazquez : Custodian - Leadworker Night

Almilkar Martinez Vazquez

Custodian - Leadworker Night

Science

Shannon Mullis : Teacher, Science M/J

Shannon Mullis

Teacher, Science M/J

Bachelor of Science in Business Administration-Florida Southern College

Teaching credentials earned through Polk State College

Master's Degree in Business Administration-Warner University

Teaching background: I started teaching in Elementary school for 5 years and found myself teaching 7th grade Math and Science at Roosevelt Academy. I have moved up to 8th grade Intensive Math and 9th Grade Environmental Science.

Personal: I have been married for 10 years and have two children (ages 9 and 2 1/2) also a silver labrador. I enjoy crafting, boating, softball and being with my family.

shannon.mullis@polk-fl.net
Molly Thompson : Teacher, Science M/J

Molly Thompson

Teacher, Science M/J

Bachelor's Degree - Warner University

Lake Wales Native

Years teaching: 17 years, last 6 at Roosevelt Academy

molly.thompson@polk-fl.net
Rosa Irizarry : Teacher, Science M/J

Rosa Irizarry

Teacher, Science M/J

rosa.irizarry@polk-fl.net
Jennifer Middlebrook : Teacher, Science

Jennifer Middlebrook

Teacher, Science

Bachelor of Science in Chemistry

University of Central Florida

Subjects taught: HS Physical Science, HS Biology, 6th Intensive Math

Previous jobs: Chemist, Environmental Specialist, Semi-conductor Manufacturing Process Engineer

Nine years teaching experience.

jennifer.middlebrook@polk-fl.net

Social Studies

Phillip Miles : Teacher, Social Studies

Phillip Miles

Teacher, Social Studies

Bachelor's Degree from University of Georgia

Master's Degree from Walden University

Student Government Sponsor

Subjects taught: HS Math and Social Studies, College Success

phillip.miles@polk-fl.net
Robert Bagby : Teacher, Social Studies

Robert Bagby

Teacher, Social Studies

Bachelor of Science - University of Florida

Clubs Sponsored: Grilling Club (LAT)

Important Information: This is my 30 and last year teaching, all 30 here at Roosevelt Academy.

robert.bagby@polk-fl.net
Susan Hornsby : Teacher, Social Students M/J Chair

Susan Hornsby

Teacher, Social Students M/J Chair

Bachelor of Arts degree in Education - Exceptional Student Education K-12 - University of South Florida
Favorite Quote:  "That which doesn't kill me, makes me stronger."  Steel Magnolias
Currently teaching:
     8th Grade Civics
     7th Grade American History
Teaching Experience: This is my 21st year at Roosevelt Academy   😊
 
susan.hornsby@polk-fl.net
Jackie Baldwin : Teacher Reading M/J

Jackie Baldwin

Teacher Reading M/J

Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education - Southeastern University
Masters of Education in Reading K-12 - Rollins College
Favorite quote:  “You must do the thing you think you cannot do.” (Eleanor Roosevelt)
I have taught all levels, K-12, as well as teaching reading courses at Polk State College.
Work History: Classroom Teacher - 27 years and 40 years working in education.
Polk County District Office - Secondary Reading/Literacy Senior Coordinator - 13 years
jackie.baldwin@polk-fl.net

Electives

Amy Bagby : Teacher, Family & Consumer Science/Culinary

Amy Bagby

Teacher, Family & Consumer Science/Culinary

Bachelor of Science in Education/Learning Disabilities/Behavior Disorders

Kent State University

Co-owner of Swamp Boys BBQ Team

28 years teaching at Roosevelt Academy

amy.bagby@polk-fl.net
Timothy Bean : Teacher, Agri National Resources Ed

Timothy Bean

Teacher, Agri National Resources Ed

Agriscience Instructor-FFA Advisor B.S. Western Kentucky University Future Farmers of America Sponsor

timothy.bean@polk-fl.net
Ray Cruze : Teacher, Agri National Resources Ed

Ray Cruze

Teacher, Agri National Resources Ed

Bachelor of Science in Liberal Studies

University of Central Florida

FFA Advisor

ray.cruze@polk-fl.net
Daniel Sharpless : Teacher, Carpentry

Daniel Sharpless

Teacher, Carpentry

daniel.sharpless@polk-fl.net
Henry Wright : Teacher, Physical Education/HOPE

Henry Wright

Teacher, Physical Education/HOPE

henry.wright@polk-fl.net
Keith Barker : Teacher, Vocational Or/Exp

Keith Barker

Teacher, Vocational Or/Exp

OJT Trainer/Career Experience

Vocationally Certified

Business Owner - 14 years

Manager for 7 years with 3 different companies

Teaching experience: 16 years at Roosevelt

keith.barker@polk-fl.net
Henry Smith : Teacher, Vocational Or/Exp

Henry Smith

Teacher, Vocational Or/Exp

Vocationally Certified

OTP/Job Placement Coordinator

Business Owner - 3 years

Plant Manager - 10 years with local company

 

henry.smith@polk-fl.net
Charles Kauffman : Teacher, Robotics, Business Education

Charles Kauffman

Teacher, Robotics, Business Education

charles.kauffman@polk-fl.net
Jane Brammer : Digital Design, TV Production, PE

Jane Brammer

Digital Design, TV Production, PE

Bachelor of Science in Business Education, University of South Florida

Master of Arts in Career & Technical Education, University of South Florida

National Board Certification

Certification Areas: Business, ESE, Communications Technology & Engineering, PE

Clubs Sponsored: Technical Student Association, National Honor Society, Yearbook, TV Production

jane.brammer@polk-fl.net

Paraprofessionals

Nancy Bell : Paraeducator

Nancy Bell

Paraeducator

nancy.bell01@polk-fl.net
Velda Benton : Paraeducator

Velda Benton

Paraeducator

velda.benton@polk-fl.net
Maria Kelly : Paraeducator

Maria Kelly

Paraeducator

maria.kelly@polk-fl.net
Beverly Leavins : Paraeducator

Beverly Leavins

Paraeducator

beverly.leavins@polk-fl.net
Ana Rodriguez : Paraeducator

Ana Rodriguez

Paraeducator

ana.rodriguez@polk-fl.net
Darlene Palmer : Lab Manager

Darlene Palmer

Lab Manager

darlene.palmer@polk-fl.net
Carolyn Spicer : Lab Manager

Carolyn Spicer

Lab Manager

carolyn.spicer@polk-fl.net
Kasie Robarts : Paraeducator

Kasie Robarts

Paraeducator

kasie.robarts@polk-fl.net
Yetta Saunders : Para - Student Specific

Yetta Saunders

Para - Student Specific

yetta.saunders@polk-fl.net
Ethelrine Watts : Paraprofessional

Ethelrine Watts

Paraprofessional

ethelrine.watts@polk-fl.net
Amy Robinson : Paraprofessional

Amy Robinson

Paraprofessional

amy.robinson@polk-fl.net

ESE

Robin Harrison : LEA Facilitator

Robin Harrison

LEA Facilitator

robin.harrison@polk-fl.net